Ksh 26.9 Billion Released to Counties, Yatani

Ksh 26.9 Billion Released to Counties, Yatani

National Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ambassador Ukur Yatani

Spread the love

Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani has today confirmed the disbursement of Kshs 26.9 billion to counties for the end of June2020/21 financial year.

In a joint statement to the Council of Governors (COG), the CS says the disbursement makes the total of funds released to Counties at Ksh 316.5 billion in Division of Revenue Act, 2020.

Further, the CS confirms disbursement of KSh 28.5 billion conditional grants to County Governments.

Nevertheless, Yatani states that the ministry and the leadership of COG agreed that counties will prioritize the settlement of pending bills with the resources released.

This will enable Counties to meet their important obligation to the private sector and spur economic activity at the county level as part of the ongoing and inclusive economic recovery programme.

says Yatani.

The Treasury has given counties time to process and transmit payments through the Integrated Financial Management Information System (IFMIS).

The allocation comes after counties complained of the initially released funds being minimal to sustain them.

Sharing is Caring

Do you have a groundbreaking story you would like us to publish? Please reach us through [email protected]. You can also contact 254news.co.ke Instantly.